NLP Post 1

We have been learning about networked learning; articulating our own personal learning networks and revising our lesson plans to incorporate networked learning.

My personal use of networked learning has continued to expand since the public introduction of the internet. I like learning.  I like learning random things over the internet. I can happily surf from link to link for hours. Heck, this weekend I even researched why a chocolate I used to like doesn’t taste the same anymore.

A Yowie is an Australian Bigfoot. The chocolates went extinct in 2000, but were resurrected by a different company in 2014.
A Yowie is an Australian Bigfoot. The chocolates went extinct in 2000, but were resurrected by a different company in 2014.

But the internet and its plethora of online information is not only useful for research. It is an increasingly viable source for learning how to do new things. Khan Academy is the oft-quoted example of how students can learn math online. Pinterest is a “scrap” heap of craft projects. I know many people who love to make and use Instructables. Companies that supply goods for an activity, passionate participants, people who organize Meetup groups, and MAET students, to name a few, are all adding to and using digital networks to learn, share, and learn some more.

My first birdie! And EVERYONE heard about it via Facebook.
My first birdie! And EVERYONE heard about it via Facebook.
Night golf is a great skill leveler.
Night golf is a great skill leveler.

In late 2013, I learned to play golf using only online learning resources. I searched for golf instruction videos, and I read golf websites. The more places I searched, the larger my network became. I downloaded an app to track my scores during a round, and the app company sent me a weekly email, which included links to more golf videos and websites. No-one ever stops learning the game of golf, but I do connect with the ball most times, and can keep up with the pace of play.

For this project, I am going to learn to juggle. This is a great activity for me, because I will have to be patient. In a quick search I have found whole Youtube channels dedicated to juggling. There is a Danish juggler who makes particularly good videos. I have also found a juggling exercise app, which tracks your progress using 30 different juggling patterns. My goal is to be able to juggle three balls using three different patterns, and make twenty catches with each pattern. Who knows, you might see me busking on Grand River!

I plan to use only three.
I plan to use only three.

References:

Yowie photo from http://www.yowieworld.com

Golf photos are my own

Juggling photo from http://www.chrissiewellington.org/blog/juggling-balls/

